Unusual Saturday

You know how the sentences, phrases, images keep playing”ten ten” in your head but the power to put them down fails you.   It’s one of those kind of days for me.  Woke up on Friday with a terrible stomach upset and it lingered into today thereby making it difficult to write nor be of any help domestically. However, today is not about me.

I kept floating in semiconsciousness but I can remember they came to say “good morning” one after the other. Is it not funny how kids choose to wake up early on a weekend and cry foul when you wake them early on a school day? They came and announced they have had their bath and I think I said something like, ” that’s good”. I dozed off again and woke to their voices.  They were deciding who would do what. Rather, I think it was more like my small madam telling them what to do and not to step on where she had mopped(so typical of me). “What are they doing?”, I wondered. The answer didn’t take long as my Bobo came to report that Uju won’t allow him to mop the floors. I whispered, “you can arrange your room and mop the floor”. He gladly left.  At a point, my babe came in and was pointing out the places she had cleaned and how she swept my room while I slept.

I think that was the moment I fell in love with my kids. again.. Without any word from me, they knew it was time to help as mummy(who doesn’t fall sick) was sick. Thank God I did not try to act superwoman else, I won’t be typing away myself now.  I gently got up from the bed to see them in  action and this is what I got

TMPDOODLE1433615759864

She was seriously giving the house a shine as well as her brother.TMPDOODLE1433616013488

I could not have been more proud of them.  I went back to the bed. Later when they asked for breakfast, it was daddy that came to the rescue (they made their choice) with his legendary egg and bread.

TMPDOODLE1433616600103

I think like the Englishman will say,”make hay while the sun shines” is the sum of it all. I am making hay with these kids, teaching them as much as I can even though sometimes, I think I am not doing enough. Now they are young they will catch up on anything. I don’t pray to always be sick for them to shine but  I guess they have made their debut. Now, let me think of more roles to assign to them *wink wink*

6 responses to “Unusual Saturday

  1. Oh Ada such lovely and blessed children you got there. You have every right to be so proud of them. The incident is a like a peep into your result booklet and hey! you came out in flying colours. We can never teach them enough but keep doing what you do ( a great job I say) and hand them over to God who owns them while we (parents) are simply custodians. I’m sure you’re ok by now.
    Remain Lifted!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mma, it is good to have you here. I am good now. Children are like arrows in our hands. We shoot them the right direction and they will nail it just fine. Thanks so much

      Like

  2. You are doing an awesome job. Our children are our future, we need to teach them the beauty in labour, so that later can we sit back and relax, knowing that we’ve done our part as parents.
    Hope you are better now, Hun?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is the absolute truth dear. We just have to let them learn and not worry about the mess they might make ie, breaking plates and pouring too much cleaning soap in the water. I am getting better dear. Thanks

      Like

  3. Thats good, what they see u do is what they will do. U may think they are not learning. You know the Bible tells us to train up a child in the way they should go so that when they grow up they will not depart from it. U re doing a good job. But hope u are all right now. Ur healing is permanent. Or are we expecting another………….lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

