What is your Child’s Career choice?

In my post yesterday, I made it known that I can’t remember thinking of a particular profession. Sometimes, when I want to indulge myself, I will tell myself that, maybe  I thought of being a nurse or a teacher. Did I think of being a lawyer? I give up trying to remember. Let me bring you to the present.

Still talking about careers, I guess I have settled on mine. Let me keep punching away at the keyboard until another crazy idea pops into my head. When we carefully evaluate our self, we will find out that our actions stem from a root either out of fear or of a firm resolution. Allow me to think of my children in this scenario. I took a teaching job when I was pregnant with the twins. It was for a short period. In between the birth of my kids, I have tried to get a job. Once, I got a job at a Pre-school. After mornings of jumping up and down at school, I come home in the evenings  to do Tom and Jerry with mine . The job didn’t last for more than a week. The constant headache was not worth it. Naturally, I can’t be idle for long. Having kids between the ages of 3 and I+ did not make getting a job a sweet feat at that time.  Somehow, I got the feeling that maybe I am not meant to take a paid job. Ideas always popped into my head and I loved trying them out. As the kids grew in age, i grew in wisdom. As they started entering school and we started filling forms that have columns for Mother’s  profession, I realized it was time I got a label(will talk about labels later).

Why the sudden need for a professional label? I am the first teacher my children should learn from. Before they start learning about Jobs people do in their Social studies class, they should see me doing a Job. Seeing mummy get involved in a job that will earn her money will build a sense of purpose in them. Apart from the monetary attachment to a job, the knowledge that they can contribute to their environment in a peculiar way will fuel their energy. When children have a sense of purpose, they are concerned about what they want to do , why they want to do it and how they will do it. wpid-img_20140422_153208.jpg

When kids see mummy working, they will realize that nothing comes for free. They will be internally engineered to be useful.  I believe it is very necessary for a girl child to know that her mother is industrious and contributes to national development. It will not allow her to be lazy. It was not much of a surprise that my daughter at 5 years could sit and spoon feed some kids. When I eventually  started the Daycare, they were always with me after school and saw how things worked. Naturally, she learnt to pick clues and knew when a child wanted something and was able to distinguish the children’s bags etc. She started learning responsibility. I will always make it known that I purposely steer my children to think of careers(as much as I can) when I expose them to movies. I can clearly remember the first time my son(he was 6 at that time) said he wanted to be a doctor, not the type that heals the sick but the type that invents things,. I was amazed. He could have only seen that from television or books because I am not an Inventor nor is his dad.

It is common to see professionals train their kids to take after them. It is a wise thing to do for posterity. However, we should not let ourselves be carried away to think that our kids must take after us. Some kids have a loathing to the kind of jobs their parents do because of the effects the job has on them. It is easy for us parents to get carried away with our jobs and forget that our kids need us more. Some children are born with their purpose . From the start, they know what they want to do and go in that direction. Remember these lines from ABBa’s Thank You for the Music

Mother says I was a dancer before I could walk
She says I began to sing long before I could talk
But I’ve often wondered, how did it all start?
Who found out that nothing can capture a heart
Like a melody can?
Well, whoever it was, I’m a fan

So I say
Thank you for the music, the songs I’m singing
Thanks for all the joy they’re bringing
Who can live without it, I ask in all honesty
What would life be?
Without a song or a dance what are we?
So I say thank you for the music

When it becomes obvious to parents a trait their child shows, Parenting With Purpose says that parents can develop the same focus by training their children to be conscious of their intention or purpose whenever they are engaged in any activity. Children cannot always be left to think they can figure it out when the time to chose a career comes. There is no perfect time than now. We guide them towards their heart beat. Truth be told, some children will never be able to chose a career for themselves. Parents will naturally steer them unto a path. I ask my 7 year old daughter what she wants to be and sometimes she wants to be a Dancer, Singer, Teacher. There was a time she wanted to be a Police Woman. In as much as I press her, she has not willingly mentioned a Doctor or Engineer(makes a sad face). The day I  asked if she was going to be a lawyer, she asked me what lawyers do. I advocate for children to be true to themselves but sincerely one time when she said,  A Singer , I almost screamed,’ don’t you want to be a doctor, accountant’. Then I remembered, Sinach is a Singer, Shania Twain is a singer and I listen to them a lot. They have their professional marks on me. The good thing is that she has the voice, the body moves(her aunt said she can dance to save her life) and the eye for colour. Who knows, she might be A Gymnast the next time I ask her.
As parents, we can only hope and pray that our children will pick an early interest in a profession. We must bear in mind that our true selves are not defined by our professions but by our inner man. Any chosen profession as long as it is legal and productive reflects the glory of God and he expresses it through us.
In response to NaBloPoMo Writing Prompt:  When you were a kid, did you want to have the same job or a different job than your parents when you grew up?
Talk to me

